Skip to main content

Section 8 of the Regulation outlines restricted activities that are subject to additional regulatory provisions, highlighted and discussed below. Before carrying out restricted activities in Section 8, registered nurses must successfully complete a certification program approved by BCCNM.

Certified practice registered nurses do not require a client-specific order from a listed health professional for a restricted activity listed in section 8 of the RN Regulation that is within the autonomous scope of the nurse’s certified practice designation and the nurse’s individual competence.



A registrant in the course of practising nursing may do any of the following:




perform an activity described in section 7 (1)(a) or (b) to (h);




in respect of a drug specified in Schedule I of the Drug Schedules Regulation,





prescribe the drug,





compound the drug,





dispense the drug, or





administer the drug by any method;

The Regulation permits BCCNM-certified registered nurses to make a diagnosis identifying a disease or disorder (in addition to a condition) as the cause of a client’s signs or symptoms.

In addition, Section 8 authorizes registered nurses to carry out some of the restricted activities listed in Section 7 without an order. For example, some certified practice registered nurses are permitted to diagnose and treat certain sexually transmitted infections with Schedule I medications. One exception is noted— registered nurses are prohibited from compounding, dispensing or administering controlled drugs listed in Schedule IA of the provincial drug schedules unless they have an order.

The Regulation requires registered nurses to complete a certification program approved by BCCNM before performing the activities listed in section 8(1) within their autonomous scope of practice (to the extent the care provided is not within the activities listed in section 6).

The categories of certified practice are:

  • Remote Nursing Practice
  • Reproductive Health
  • RN First Call

Table 1 on the next page shows the three certified practice categories, along with the education required for practice in each category.

The decision support tools (DSTs) set out the activities that are included in the certified practice. In other words, they establish the parameters for this expanded scope of registered nurse practice. For example, registered nurses certified in remote practice will be able to diagnose and treat acute, minor diseases and disorders such as conjunctivitis, otitis media and impetigo.

The certified practice decision support tools and competencies are maintained by the Nurses and Nurse Practitioners of British Columbia (NNPBC). They can be accessed at

Certified practice categories and education requirements