Skip to main content

Entry-level competencies

​​Entry-level competencies reflect the knowledge skills and judgement required of nurses or midwives in Canada to provide safe, competent, ethical and compassionate care. The entry-level competencies below outline the essential competencies that nurses or midwives must possess in order to begin practice.​
​Licensed practical nurse (LPN)

    ​In response to the changing health care environment, these competencies were updated in 2019. The Entry-Level Competencies for Licensed Practical Nurses​ describes the knowledge, skills, judgment and attitude required of beginning practitioners to provide safe, competent and ethical nursing care. This document is in effect as of Sept. 1, 2020.

Nurse practitio​ner (NP)

​​​​Nurse practitioners in British Columbia practice in one of three streams of practice: family, adult or pediatric.​​​

Registered midwife (RM)

Entry-level competencies reflect the knowledge, skills and judgement required of midwives to provide care in British Columbia.

Registered nurse (RN)

Registered nurses in British Columbia must meet the entry-level competencies to be eligible to practice in the province.​​​

Registered psychiatric nurse (RPN)

Registered Psychiatric Nurse Entry-Level Competencies​ describes the expected competencies for entry-level RPN practice across Canada.​​​