Skip to main content

Entry-level competencies

​​​Entry-level competencies for each nursing designation in Canada reflect the knowledge, skills, and judgement required of nurses to provide safe, competent, ethical and compassionate care. The entry-level competencies documents outline the essential competencies that nurses — respective to their nursing designation — must possess in order to begin practice.​​​​​

​Licensed practical nurse (LPN)

    ​In response to the changing health care environment, these competencies were updated in 2019. The Entry-Level Competencies for Licensed Practical Nurses​ describes the knowledge, skills, judgment and attitude required of beginning practitioners to provide safe, competent and ethical nursing care. This document is in effect as of Sept. 1, 2020.

Nurse practitioner (NP)

​​​​Nurse practitioners in British Columbia practice in one of three streams of practice: family, adult or pediatric.​​​

Registered nurse (RN)

Registered nurses in British Columbia must meet the entry-level competencies to be eligible to practice in the province.​​​

Registered psychiatric nurse (RPN)

Registered Psychiatric Nurse Entry-Level Competencies​ describes the expected competencies for entry-level RPN practice across Canada.​​​

900 – 200 Granville St
Vancouver, BC  V6C 1S4

​Toll-free 1.866.880.7101 (within Canada only) ​

With great respect, we acknowledge that BCCNM’s office is located on the unceded territories of the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ speaking peoples – xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), and sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations, and the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh-ulh Sníchim speaking peoples - Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish Nation) whose historical relationships with the land continue to this day.​