Skip to main content

These scope of practice standards outline the requirements for registered psychiatric nurses providing client care in the following ways: 

There are four levels of control on nu​rsing practice, known as the controls on practice. These include the Nurses (Registered Psychiatric) Regulation; BCCNM standards of practice including standards, limits, and conditions; organizational policies and restrictions; and the registered psychiatric nurse's individual competence.

Registered psychiatric nurses may provide care to clients by:​

  • acting within autonomous scope of practice when carrying out:

    • non-restricted activities, and

    • restricted activities within section 6 (restricted activities that do not require an order) of the the Nurses (Registered Psychiatric) Regulation​​​.  

  • acting on a client-specif​ic order from a listed health professional for a restricted activity included in section 7 (with an order) of the Nurses (Registered Psychiatric) Regulation.  

  • acting on a client-specific order from a non-listed health professional for an activity that is within the registered psychiatric nurse’s autonomous scope of practice and the nurse’s individual competence

  • giving a client-specific order for an activity within autonomous scope of practice and the registered psychiatric nurse’s individual competen​​​ce ​

<< previous​    |    next >>

900 – 200 Granville St
Vancouver, BC  V6C 1S4

​Toll-free 1.866.880.7101 (within Canada only) ​

We acknowledge the rights and title of the First Nations on whose collective unceded territories encompass the land base colonially known as British Columbia. We give specific thanks to the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ speaking peoples the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) and sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations and the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh-ulh Sníchim speaking Peoples the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish Nation), on whose unceded territories BCCNM’s office is located. We also give thanks for the medicines of these territories and recognize that laws, governance, and health systems tied to these lands and waters have existed here for over 9000 years.

We also acknowledge the unique and distinct rights, including rights to health and wellness, of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples from elsewhere in Canada who now live in British Columbia. As leaders in the settler health system, we acknowledge our responsibilities to these rights under international, national, and provincial law.​