Skip to main content

Professional Standards

For licensed practical nurses

The professional standards reflect the values of the nursing profession,clarify what the profession expects of licensed practical nurses, and represent the criteria that BCCNM uses to measure LPN practice in BC. 

This document sets out four professiona​l standards for LPNs. They are:

  1. Responsibility and Accountability
  2. Competency-Based Practice
  3. Client-Focused Provision of Services
  4. Ethical Practice

Each standard has a series of indicators attached to it. The indicators provide specific criteria that are used to measure the actual performance of an individual LPN.​​​​

 Need help or advice?

​​​For further information on the Standards of Practice or professional practice matters, contact us:

  • Email
  • 604.742.6200 x8803 (Metro Vancouver)
  • Toll-free 1.866.880.7101 x8803 (within Canada only)